DVOŘÁK: Piano Quintet Op. 5

9.6.2018 11:24   News

Piano Quintet in A major Op. 5

Edited by Jarmil Burghauser and Karel Šolc

• Early piano quintet for all who love Dvořák’s chamber music
• Now with a new detailed foreword (Eng/Cz/Ger) by David R. Beveridge

BA 11539_Dvorak_Kvintet_obalkaBA 11539_Dvorak_Kvintet_PARTITURA_1In 1887 Antonín Dvořák revised several of the works he had composed in the 1860s and 1870s, most of which he then published for the first time. In this context he asked the music critic Ludevít Procházka to return a manuscript copy of the Piano Quintet in A major op. 5, composed 15 years earlier. But after thoroughly revising the work he declined to publish it; instead, he wrote a new piano quintet in the same key – the famous op. 81. And so, the manuscript copy he requested from Procházka remains the sole source for this early piece of chamber music. 

Dvořák’s first Piano Quintet in A major was never published during his lifetime. This edition presents the musical text from the Complete Edition of the Works of Antonín Dvořák, Volume  IV/11.

BA 11539 (replaces H 2783) • score with parts in slipcover • ISMN 979-0-2601-0803-5
Price: EUR 23.95   BUY